Connected Cars, Extending Senses – FWIC15 Insights. By Tuck Poon, Ofcom

Insight

A couple of days after my short trip to Cornwall I was at The Emirates Stadium for the FWIC15 rather than watching the Gunners play at home. My mind was still reminiscing our fantastic time in Cornwall; the Minack Theatre, the Biomes of Eden Project, the Lost Gardens of Heligan, etc… and trying to forget our long 5 hours’ drive between London and Cornwall.

It wasn’t until Mike Bell from Jaguar Land Rover spoke about “Where next for the connected car – the challenges and opportunities?” that I started thinking… maybe an InControl feature can turn my boring 5 hours’ journey into something I look forward to in any long drive.

Trying to spice up my Cornwall drive…

Being a techno geek, I had hooked up my Bluetooth GPS to a proprietary software on my laptop which blinks and plays a tune when I reach certain waypoints in my journey to Cornwall… just to spice up a boring drive, then plot my journey with terrain data when I get home. Although I do have the satnav as a driving companion as well, it’s still not an inspiring journey to be honest! So putting my engineer’s hat on… Can I do better?

An extension to my senses…

Land Rover InControl

Picture from Land Rover website

I got quite excited after learning about what Jaguar Land Rover is trying to do; connecting the car to the world of technology. We have:

  • InControl REMOTE to find our car or to heat up our car cabin before we get in during the winter
  • InControl SECURE to track down the culprit that’s trying to steal our car
  • InControl WIFI to turn the car into a hotspot
  • Incontrol APPS to get your smartphone apps onto the vehicles’ displays

It has certainly grabbed my attention to the infinite possibilities of what we can do with the Connected Car and Jaguar Land Rover is being bold in embracing technology and I’m sure they’re not the only one in the industry. Maybe not all features of InControl is desirable by everyone but it begs the question of what more can it do or how customisable it can be? maybe detect if the driver is tired, or a driving aid to avoid collision, map out historical places enroute (or display places that sells Kelly’s ice cream for that matter!), etc, etc.  Looking at how technology is evolving… I’m sure that one day my Connected Car will take away my long painful drive and turn it into a driving pleasure every time I step into the car… and being an extension to my senses.

 

About The Author

Tuck Poon is Senior Spectrum Technology Analyst at Ofcom

Connect on LinkedIn

 

Keep the conversation going on Twitter: @CambWireless

Want to find out more about Cambridge Wireless? Visit http://www.cambridgewireless.co.uk/